# Adult Education Administrative Code Revisions

Division of Academics and Performance

Erskine Glover, Acting Director Office of Career Readiness



Please note that this PowerPoint presentation has been modified from its original version to be more accessible.

## Purpose

- Review and revise regulations to ensure application and reflect current practice
- Define the role of the New Jersey Department of Education in the pathways to obtain a New Jersey high school diploma



### Timeline

June 3, 2020	First Discussion

July 1, 2020 Second Discussion

August 5, 2020

Proposal



## Proposed Changes

- 1. Technical Changes
  - Deleted rules that are no longer relevant or the responsibility no longer belongs to the New Jersey Department of Education
  - Clarifications the prior rules were confusing or unclear
  - Grammar/Formatting
  - Updated terminology and definitions prior rules used outdated terminology and definitions that are not in line with current practice and other chapters of code
- 2. Substantive changes (to be discussed in upcoming slides)



Overview of Chapter 20: Pathways to High School Diploma Substantive Changes – First Pathway (1 of 2)

The first pathway allows persons age 16 years or older who are no longer enrolled in school and are residents of the State of New Jersey to earn a state-issued high school diploma by taking and passing a New Jersey High School Equivalency Assessment (NJHSEA).



### Overview of Chapter 20: Pathways to High School Diploma Substantive Changes – First Pathway (2 of 2)

# Addition (*N.J.A.C.* 6A:20-1.3, Eligibility requirements)

A person must be a New Jersey resident and not have obtained a high school diploma in New Jersey or any other state.

#### Modification (N.J.A.C. 6A:20-1.2, Definitions)

An NJHSEA is no longer just the General Education Development (GED) test, but also includes the High School Equivalency Test (HiSET), and Test Assessing Secondary Completion (TASC) assessments, which have been approved by the State Board of Education.



#### Deletion (N.J.A.C. 6A:20-1.6, Monitoring)

The NJDOL is responsible for the monitoring of adult education programs that receive Title II funding under the federal Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) as required by federal regulations.

### Overview of Chapter 20 – Pathways to High School Diploma Substantive Changes – Second Pathway (1 of 2)

The second pathway enables persons age 16 years or older who are no longer enrolled in high school and are New Jersey residents to earn a state-issued high school diploma based on the evaluation of *3*0 credits of college coursework. The Department evaluates the college coursework and provides the state-issued high school diploma.



Overview of Chapter 20 – Pathways to High School Diploma Substantive Changes – Second Pathway (2 of 2)

# Addition (*N.J.A.C.* 6A:20-1.4(a)2, Application, evaluation, and validation)

A person must submit to the Department a signed application and documentation of New Jersey residency.

# Deletion (*N.J.A.C.* 6A:20-1.4(b), Application, evaluation, and validation)

This rule allows the Commissioner to make exceptions on a case-by-case basis for persons under 16 years of age who have otherwise met all state high school graduation requirements and based on extraordinary academic or personal achievement to obtain a state-issued high school diploma. State law does not specify that state-issued high school diplomas can be awarded to persons under 16 years of age and such requests in recent history have all been denied.



### Overview of Chapter 20 – Pathways to High School Diploma Substantive Changes – Third Pathway (1 of 4)

The third pathway allows persons age 16 years or older to earn a state-endorsed diploma by attending and graduating from one of the 11 adult high schools in New Jersey. District boards of education operate the adult high school and award a state-endorsed high school diploma to adult high school graduates.



### Overview of Chapter 20 – Pathways to High School Diploma Substantive Changes – Third Pathway (2 of 4)

### Modification (N.J.A.C. 6A:20-1.2, Definitions)

An adult high school provides education for those who are 16 (not 18) years of age or older because persons who are at least 16 years of age can earn a high school diploma under the chapter's provisions if they meet certain requirements.

### Addition (N.J.A.C. 6A:20-1.2, Definitions)

Each adult high school has a separate County District School (CDS) System code from the school district" to indicate that an adult high school is another high school within a school district that follows all state and local requirements.



#### Deletion (N.J.A.C. 6A:20-2.2(a)2, Eligibility for Enrollment)

Students do not have to officially drop out of school to attend an adult high school. A district board of education operating an adult high school has the discretion to allow students 16 years of age or older to transfer to the adult high school.

Overview of Chapter 20: Pathways to High School Diploma Substantive Changes – Third Pathway (3 of 4)

# Modification (*N.J.A.C.* 6A:20-2.3(b)2, English language learners and individuals with disabilities)

Individuals shall be referred to the IEP team in the district for a reevaluation if their last IEP is more than three years old.

## Addition (*N.J.A.C.* 6A:20-2.3(c), English language learners and individuals with disabilities)

An individual with a previous 504 plan can now seek similar services at an adult high school, provided the evaluation was conducted within the last year. The proposed rule also will require a determination to be made by the school district if the 504 plan needs to continue, be discontinued, and/or be updated.



### Overview of Chapter 20: Pathways to High School Diploma Substantive Changes – Third Pathway (4 of 4)

# Modification (*N.J.A.C.* 6A:20-2.3(d), English language learners and individuals with disabilities)

An individual with a disability who does not qualify for special education and related services such as an IEP or did not have a previous 504 plan shall be counseled regarding educational options that would lead to a high school diploma.

#### Deletion (N.J.A.C. 6A:20-2.10, Monitoring)

The monitoring of adult education programs in adult high schools is no longer the responsibility of the Adult Education Unit within the Department. The evaluation of adult high schools is part of the Department's monitoring of school districts under the New Jersey Quality Single Accountability Continuum (NJQSAC).

